Help!! Exporting to Netherlands

Anything else related to the Stage 1 V8
foggydave

Help!! Exporting to Netherlands

Post by foggydave »

Hi
I hopefully have just sold my Stage 1 to a gentleman in the Netherlands who again hopefully will collect it.
My question is What do I need to do in the way of paperwork
On the log book there is a section for exporting that mentions an export certificate.
It also says I should keep the first page as it will be required by the Netherlands, do they request this at a later date This is the page that normally goes back to the DVLA

I would appreciate any info or horror stories people may have or is it just a simple transaction.
Regards Dave
Londoner

Post by Londoner »

Dave,

I can understand your concerns. Although I am not an expert on sending vehicles to the Netherlands, I would think that a bit of common sense should get you through this.

I would pass all of the responsibilities to the buyer, after all you are not the one exporting it – he is. That being said I would inform DVLA that you have sold the vehicle so that you don’t have any future liability for it.

Fill in the part of the V5 regarding the new keeper – list the buyer’s name and address in Holland. After that I would leave everything up to the new owner.

The V5 Guidance Notes only require you to fill out a notice of permanent export if you intend on taking your vehicle abroad for more than 12 months. As you are not taking it anywhere, I don't think you need to worry about that.

Check with DVLA if you have any further concerns.

I bought my Landy in the UK and as far as I know, nobody that end had to deal with any extra paperwork or had any hassles. Just make sure that DVLA knows that you are no longer the registered owner.

I am sure that all will be well.

Good luck.

Alan.
foggydave

Post by foggydave »

Thanks Londoner

I have sussed it with the help of a girl with a broad Brummie (Gods country) accent at the DVLA Swansea