Ignition Upgrades

Technical questions and answers
arcticrover

Ignition Upgrades

Post by arcticrover »

Hey all-

What are my options for modernizing the ignition system? I'd like to get rid of as much of the "mechanical" stuff as possible when I begin to replace the ignition electricals very soon. Keep in mind I am only a weekend mechanic and still not familiar with this engine. My rolling rebuild is taking off quickly!
Basil

Post by Basil »

Hi Mate , you could fit an electronic dizzy out of a range rover, but don't go for the one that has the ignition module pack under the coil as these can be unreliable and expensive to replace or fit a lumenition kit these are easy to fit and work well.

I had the first option but went back to points as i was having problems a couple of year's ago and wanted to eliminate the dizzy as being at fault, turn's out it was and have stuck with point's eversince, have got a lumenition kit somewhere but just have not got round to putting it on.

Basil
Landrover, If it don't leak oil, it's ran out.

Stage1 station wagon, 3.9 V8, galv chassis, parabolic's, lpg
Andy Dawe

Post by Andy Dawe »

I must agree with Basil. Points are good. You can set them up with a cigarette packet and time it with a bulb and a piece of wire. You can also carry a full set of ignition spares for a very small outlay. Something the AA and RAC are not doing now as they get no call for Points and coils these days. All they do now is diagnose that your little black box filled with resin is broke
arcticrover

Post by arcticrover »

Cool. I am trying to find the correct Pertronix part number, as no one seems to directly correlate Rover 3.5 or Rover V8 with the correct part. I am pretty sure it is LU-181, but no one seems to know for sure.
onno wielinga

Post by onno wielinga »

i also think it is the right type; the distributor turns clockwise (checked it) and has only vacuumadvance.