Another new stage 1 owner

Introduce yourself and your vehicles and post (or link to) photos
1toughV8

Another new stage 1 owner

Post by 1toughV8 »

My name is Chris Rutland and I am a helicopter pilot in the US Navy. I am currently stationed in Australia on an exchange tour with the RAN. I just bougt a 1982 Series 3 Stage 1. I found this website and am thoroughly impressed. The more i read the more i am thinking i got a great deal on a very good condition stage 1. I paid AU $3000 and she runs perfect. The truck is pretty much stock as far as i can tell. Chassis is solid as can be, engine purrs like a kitten(no restrictors, headers and 2 1/2 " exhaust all the way back). There is virtually no rust anywhere!!! I have about another 2 years here in Australia and then i will be bringing this awesome truck back to the US with me(over 25 years old with no ristrictions). My plan is to someday do a full frame-off resto and make her look perfect. I will figure out how to post a photo and do so soon. I just picked up a intermediate gearset out of a rangy off ebay and that is my project for the next few weekends. I know you can do the job with the transmission in the car but i am taking it out to do a full rebuild and gasket change. I will photo-document the whole job and post at a later date. Nice to find you all.

Cheers,
Chris
Greg White

Post by Greg White »

G'day Chris

Thats at least 3 stage 1's in Aus.

Sounds like you got a real bargain . There is an 85 County for sale over west for $8000 at the moment.
I paid A$4500 for mine

Have you got any pics and have you taken the landy out bush yet?

Regards Greg

1982 Stage1 V8
1toughV8

Post by 1toughV8 »

Greg,