Steering damper

Technical questions and answers
Glen

Steering damper

Post by Glen »

These things seem to be a bit of a 'marmite' device as many seem to think they are useless and just make steering heavy, at least on a series, though LR engineers seem to think they are worth fitting to basicly any coil (or air) sprung model with a steering box and they seem to be a fairly popular original fitment on series models from the 70's too. Its therefore possable peoples opinions on them is based on ageing steering systems that aren't quite right in the first place which probubly isn't fair.

So, my perspective...
I've been driving series 1's for about 15 years. These don't have dampers fitted and Rover had a few attempts at getting the steering right as early models in particular were very poor and I don't think the really fixed it in the S1 era. Mine's a late model so its got a recirculating ball steering box (much lighter than worm and nut and basicly the same as a series 3) and its had the Ralco bush conversion done too, so again basicly the same as a series 3. The steering on it is nice and light and generally it didn't suffer from wheel shimmy though can obveously kick back when off roading or hitting a bit pot hole. Recently its started suffering shimmy but the bottem bush of the relay is failing so thats due a rebuild.